Men’s golf opens season at William H. Tucker Intercollegiate

HONOLULU – The University of Hawaii Men’s Golf Team opens the 2022-23 season with the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate Friday, September 23 and Saturday, September 24 at the UNM Championship Course in Albuquerque, NM

The tournament is hosted in New Mexico and includes a 19-team field. Other competing teams include BYU, Colorado, Denver, Loyola Marymount, Nebraska, New Mexico State, North Texas, Northern Illinois, San Francisco, San Diego, San Diego State, TCU, UNLV, Utah Tech, UTEP, UTSA and Wyoming.

Participants will play 36 holes on Friday and 18 on Saturday with an MT shotgun at 7:30am each day. The par-72 course plays for 7,546 yards.

Longtime PGA Tour Veteran Scott Simpson begins his second season as head coach of the Rainbow Warriors. The team returns six card winners from last season and welcomes four newcomers, including transfers Blaze Akana (State of Sacramento) and Remington Hirano (San Diego).

Akana and Hirano will make their UH debuts this week along with the newcomers Josh Hayashida and James Whitworth. Second year Atsuya Oishi is the only returnee making the trip. The Hiroshima, Japan native competed in seven tournaments last season and finished second on the team with an average of 75.1 points.

UH has been a regular participant in the Tucker Intercollegiate competing 21 times since 1976. Hawaii’s last appearance was in 2008 and their best result was a tie for fifth place in 2000.

#1 tournament
which: William H. Tucker Intercollegiate
dates: Friday, September 23 and Saturday, September 24
Course: UNM Championship Course
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Format: Two days; 36 holes on Friday, 18 holes on Saturday; 5-count-4
Host: New Mexico
Field (19 teams): BYU, Colorado, Denver, Hawaii, Loyola Marymount, Nebraska, New Mexico, State of New Mexico, North Texas, North Illinois, San Francisco, San Diego, State of San Diego, TCU, UNLV, Utah Tech, UTEP, UTSA, Wyoming.
live score:


Leave a Comment